Racism Is A Two Way Street

11 Jan

Racism in my face, up close and personal.

Recently I was given a phone number from a friend and neighbor to call about a job opportunity. I called the number and was asked to give my qualifications to a woman named Katrina. She works for Monroe Memorial Church. Link To Church Info
This is where the application and meeting took place. She then proceeded to tell me about a job starting out at 15 dollars an hour. Sounded pretty good to me, so I agreed to come in and meet for an interview.

What I was about to experience shocked and outraged me. It also broke my heart and left me feeling ashamed of my own community. How could I be feeling this way in church of God? One place I thought I would always feel welcome. A place where I believed I was to be safe and protected.

I arrived at 3pm. I was directed by church members to a small meeting area in the back of the church. I found a seat right in the middle of the room and waited for the meeting (which I thought was going to be an interview) to start. A man stood up and asked ” May we start with a prayer?” Then proceeded to pray. I was thinking to myself wow, we have to pray to be a part of this meeting? Well this didn’t bother me too much, as I am a christian. I just thought it may bother others in the room.

The first man continued to speak hyping up the man he was introducing. “A friend of the president and who also knows the vice president. A prominent business man in Alton and across the river in St. Louis. Helping build Busch Stadium, the Keil Center, and other big structures. You can’t get any closer to Washington,
Mr. Brian E. Hutchinson Competitive Performance Specifications LLC
Link to His Business on a Minority Website

He then took the podium. It started off with a video talking about his business and it being one of the largest minority owed businesses in the St Louis area. He then proceeded to talk about how hard it was for people that looked like him to get a good job. Especially in the construction and union industries. I just thought at this point he was stating some unhealthy sad statistics. Until I heard him say “The white man has been keeping them down since the beginning of time. He has had to work 100 times harder then those who are white.” He said that a good example of how he and others that look like him have been treated unfairly and are discriminated against is The Eagles Club on Broadway.

He then said that people who looked like him, minorities, need to change their attitudes and want to have something to leave to their children. I agree with one part we do all need to have something to leave future generations. Everyone needs this in their life.

This was all taking place at what was supposed to be a job interview. Then turned out to be more of a Black Panthers HVAC hiring seminar.
Link To Stop Hate.us

Not only was he pushing that the white man is continuing to keep the Black man or men that look like him down. But he also was harping that all white men believe they are superior to all other races. That caucasian think they own the construction and union industries. They will do what ever they can to keep minorities out of it. He came across this a lot growing up and in the industry.

Not once did anyone even look at me. Not even to gauge my reaction as to what was going on. I sat up in my seat and had turned my feet towards the isle without even realizing it. Still listening to what was being said. He continued by saying he only hires young black employees. Willing to work hard and make a change. Every time he said something about white people being racist the group around me would say uh huh or that’s right. Even those, who just minutes before the meeting, were talking and waving to me.

I forgot to mention that it was for Green Energy Jobs. Training with Certification in HVAC fields. Guaranteed job placement. You can run your own business and be like him and only hire minorities.

I didn’t know what to do. Should I get upset and say something looking around I am the only caucasian out of 35 or 40 people. Should I just walk out? Should I make a scene, and say this is why racism continues. If you continue to feed the fire, it will continue to burn. Being a fueler is far worse then just being racist. A fueler creates new racists and hate mongers.

After about 30 minutes of this I just left quietly out the back. Not even looking back to see the reaction of people as I walked out during his speech. I called my wife told her what was going on, she wanted to pick me up. I told her that I needed to have some time and walk and think. Walking home I passed the places I see every day. African American, Black, minority people that I associate with every day. Saddened by what I had just experienced, unable to smile. What is wrong with my community? What is wrong with this church that is allowing this to take place in a house of worship?

Tell me what you think. Please weigh in.
Edited By: The Freedom Network

Freedom Writer.

24 Responses to “Racism Is A Two Way Street”

  1. Why-Tee January 19, 2011 at 6:38 PM #

    Indeed, it’s sad to see. I had to deal with this a lot living and going to school in the south.
    Schools, in the streets, now in God’s house, we are being rejected?
    Sad… Just sad.

    As Whites, we should be able to express our own pride without being put down in our local communities as well…

    • nobullblogger January 19, 2011 at 11:58 PM #

      I just think it is time to start lookin at our similarities. Stop focusing on our differences. We all bleed that is all I need to know. Their are some evil and some good. When we become One, America will be unstoppable. We would be unstoppable humans. This division is what helps them control us.

  2. newsextra1962 January 23, 2011 at 2:40 PM #

    In England we have the same problem, all I hear in the press and on TV is how bad white people are and that we are responsible for all the worlds ill’s.

    The white world gets blamed for everything from the slave trade to the irish potato famine, even our leader’s have apoligised for those terrible parts of our history, we should not be apoligising for historical events which we did not have any power over, revisionist historians are always so clear about who and what should have happened.

    Race and culture is a difficult subject but it is one that will never go away, all races are Racist to some degree, we naturally want to protect our own, we naturally want to be surrounded by our own culture and like eminded people, why is that such a bad thing?

    The problem with the subject of racism is that it is our leader’s who have forced Multiculturalism on us, in England this is especially a heated topic, there are so many different cultures in England that the indigenous population and I include myself get very angry when immigrants get put before our own people, our own indigenous white people.

    England cannot continue to tolerate such an uncontrolled level of mass immigration from other countries and survive, we are a small island compared to the USA and the Racism argument is heating up, we have some far right groups in England and they are of concern but the support for those sorts of groups will grow as anger amongst the indigenous white community increases.

    At the moment England is under threat by Muslim fanatic’s as is your country, the difference is that our country is led by politically correct appeaser’s who don’t wish to upset the Muslim community who were born here even though it was some of these very individuals who blew inocent people up on a tube and bus, the world is under threat from fanatical Muslim groups and the Muslim world and it’s supposedly peaceful supporter’s don’t speak out and condem these terrorist attacks more often, when you live amongst people who hate you and would kill you If they had the opportunity then you are going to be wary of such races and religions.

    England must end all Immigration be it from White Europeans, Black Africa, America, Immigration just must stop, we will explode one of these days, we are being flooded with cultures who wish to have all the benefit’s of a western democracy but wish the indigenous population to adhere to their LAWS AND CUSTOMS, the English people will not stand by and see their country overtaken, we did not let the Nazi Germans beat us so this threat will be handled like old churchill once said, “We shall fight them on the beeches”, we shall fight them bloody everywhere If it means the survival of our heritage culture and way of life.
    Your blog is great by the way, I shall be back on a regular basis to read it, keep up the great work….

    • nobullblogger January 23, 2011 at 9:49 PM #

      Thank you for taking the time to read my article and thank you for making a comment. I enjoy hearing other views and other opinions. I have noticed lately that the racial tension flame has been re lit. There is division amongst all. Now there is even fighting in those who usually are united.

      Black on black crime that dropped in the past has recently resurfaced. Latin countries fighting amongst themselves. Many nations having wars between their own citizens. Its a shame. I look forward to hearing more from you in the future. Past articles are interesting also.

      • newsextra1962 January 26, 2011 at 5:23 PM #

        Thanks for replying to my comments, I hope you don’;t mind but I’ve put up your Blog on my Blogroll on my blog site, I really enjoy reading your blog.

        I also hope you would not mind putting up a link to my blog also, I would enjoy your comments when you can on the various topics that are often put up on my blog.

        Thanks again and again keep up the good work……

      • nobullblogger January 26, 2011 at 5:35 PM #

        Thank you for adding me and yes I will add your blog to my list. I will be taking a look at your pages as well I am interested in what your topics and points of view will be. I always put my two cents in so expect some comments. HaHa

        I look forward to future comments from ya thanks for visiting my site.

  3. newsextra1962 January 26, 2011 at 5:36 PM #

    I look forward to your comments….

  4. julztheninja January 27, 2011 at 2:07 AM #

    First of all, I really enjoyed reading this. I see this happening at my school all the time… It’s sad to think the world can really be so… ignorant, at times when we have advanced so much. It doesn’t matter the color of our skin. Anyways, I was thinking about using your article for a school project, if you don’t mind. We had to find a current article on a problem in the world today that inspired us andsummarize then write our opinion on the topic. Thankyou so much for the inspiration!

    • nobullblogger January 27, 2011 at 2:29 AM #

      Racism is everywhere and will be everywhere until we, That Is each person themselves says no. I bleed you bleed. I have emotions and so does every person I have ever met.

      School can be very tense on all subjects and in all areas.

      Just remember your not a racist just because someone said you was. You will know if your racist. A racist person doesn’t ask them self if they are racist.

    • nobullblogger January 27, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

      I release all copyrights of all my articles. I appreciate your feedback. I also am touched that I could be inspiration to another person. This is why I started this webpage. To be able to reach just one person was my goal.

      I hope this article helps. Please feel free at anytime to use anything on this website. I just ask that you give credit to the site. Please encourage others to check it out.

      I am a real person not some corporate voice. I have emotion and I let it drive my writings.

  5. Mera October 16, 2011 at 8:16 AM #

    I find it comical that white people are so outraged when they are affected by racism-yet have so little tolerance ans compassion for African Americans struggle, who were enslaved and experience that same kind of racism, but 10 times worse on a daily basis-A bit hypocritical if you ask me! if you have a problem with this type of display you should simply get thicker skin, or talk to your people about the real truth and constant battle that Blacks face in America. And you wrote this article as if this is your only encounter with racism towards you! If that was a white church, a black person (no matter how qualified) would not of made it passed the front door-that is the reality of the situation.

    • nobullblogger October 16, 2011 at 1:50 PM #

      Just a few questions. Did you take the time to read any other articles before making judgment to who I am, how I feel or what I have experienced? It seems simple minded to make such comments. With no grounds or facts behind them.

      Do you think african americans were the only race, religion, or people to be enslaved? My people and many others have been there.

      Also i’m not sure where these magical “white people”are but I’ve yet to see them. My ancestors where Indian, Irish, and French.

      Look back in history see what ya find. Grudges and hatred just feed the racism fire.

      I was simply describing an experience. Hoping to bring attention to this man. I do not approve of any racism.

      As you can tell I was angry. I am angry a lot about what I see. That is what this page is for.

      Thank you for viewing and commenting on my page.

      Freedom Writer

    • pushing for a change March 23, 2012 at 10:43 PM #

      I’m sorry that the world has you so jaded that you feel this way. Noone should have to feel this way. Btw, I go to a “white” church as you said and my preacher is black.

  6. Follower December 19, 2011 at 10:07 AM #

    I find it interesting the Mr Hutchinson of Competitive Performance Specification, L L C failed to say anything about the White Man that supported his new business when it was starting out, this person covered 90% of all expenses, from travel, entertain, hotels, car rentals and general business expense. Mr. Hutchinson used him until that person ran out of money. This person helped Mr. Hutchinson based on Mr. Hutchinson word “Gentlemen’s Agreement”, Mr Hutchinson never paid back everything he was given by this person, if fact he told the person to F-O even after this person offered to settled in a number of ways.
    The White Man that offered all this helped ended up losing everything, his business of 8 years, his marriage of 13 years and his home.
    He reminds me of a con man, he speaks what you want to hear even when it means not speaking the truth or telling the whole story.

    • Mom T March 15, 2012 at 3:05 PM #

      Don’t blame Brian for your mistakes. You wanted to hang with high ballers. Brian was not a high baller, but some of the people you ran went were. They were the ones that used you. Stop blaming other for your mistakes. What happened to you was due to lack of judgement and restraint. You can only blame yourself for throwing your money away.

      • Follower March 15, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

        The information I spoke of has been documented and the proof is there with Mr. Hutchinson name on them. True this person did make a mistake in investing into Mr. Hutchinson’s company. But when it comes down to it, Mr. Hutchinson used this person with no intentions of paying them back for the support. This person is not placing blame but making others aware that Mr. Hutchinson’s word is very misleading and untrustworthy.
        Maybe you should get all the facts before jumping in, I did my research before saying anything.

  7. Mom T March 15, 2012 at 3:00 PM #

    The information that this individual posted about Brian Hutchinson is terrible and it is a lie. I’ve known him for many, many years and he does not have a racist spirit or mind. You are looking for a story and a platform and this is not it. Racism has and will always be present. Turning the table on black people will not solve the problem. Stop all this nonsense and publish something that is positive.

    • nobullblogger March 15, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

      This information is very true. I am the writer and I was the one subjected to this. I lie about nothing. I only spoke of what I experienced and how I felt about the situation. If you disagree that is fine but don’t insult me. Do not call me a liar because you were not there. I was. It was very upsetting and still affects me to this day. I didn’t look for any story the story found me. I will not apologize or back down from what I know to be the truth. If you would bother to take a look at the entire article and other articles. I do write about positive things. Sorry to say there is more negative to shed light on. If you have a problem with what I write you can just stop reading it.

      Deep down not you nor I can know what is in a mans soul. Just know that some are very black.

      Freedom Writer
      No Bull Sh*t Here
      NoBullBlogger

      • Ansa March 22, 2012 at 6:28 PM #

        I WAS AT THE MEETING BRIAN SPOKE AT AND I DID NOT HEAR THE SAME THING THE AUTHOR OF THIS ARTICLE HEARD. AGAIN, YOU ARE INSIGHTING RACISM AND IT IS IN YOUR OWN HEART. GET IT TOGETHER BEFORE MORE TREYVON MARTIN’S ARE KILLED.

      • nobullblogger March 23, 2012 at 10:58 PM #

        If you in fact were at this meeting. I wish to ask some questions. How many White, Mexican, or Asian applicants were there? Do you recall what I look like? Why didn’t you stand up for me? I am very reasonable. I am very kind. I help, volunteer and even stand up for my community. It may be hood but its my hood. I did not make a scene or flip out at this event. Although maybe I should have. I think about it everyday. I should of stood up for myself. It is not like me to just keep quiet. This circumstance has actually impacted my entire life. Causing me to change the way I write and create music. The way I look at life and religion. Like I told the last person do not tell me what I experienced.

        On the matter of Treyvon I am not responsible for a death half way across the country. That man is responsible. Blaming anyone else is petty and childish. Protest about it and be mad sure. They should have preserved the crime scene. This man should be charged, and tried. The jury can handle it from there. But to blame it on anyone or anything else should not be tolerated.

  8. Ansa March 22, 2012 at 6:21 PM #

    JUSTICE FOR TREYVON MARTIN. COVER THIS STORY MR. NEWSPAPER MAN. BLACK MEN HAVE BEEN HUNTED FOR CENTURIES. YOUR PAPER IS ANOTHER FORM OF RACISM. STOP HATING ON BLACK PEOPLE. ARTICLES LIKE THIS INSIGHT RACISM. STOP THE VIOLENCE…………….

    • nobullblogger March 23, 2012 at 10:28 PM #

      Considering the man that shot Treyvon was of Latin Decent i do not believe this was racially motivated. I think it was wrong and unjust. But i also think this man. This self proclaimed neighborhood security card. Would have shot anyone. He probably has been waiting for this moment. Why do you think he was carrying a gun not pepper spray a taser or bean bags I have not covered this story because if you notice many things I cover are not covered by the mainstream media. If they are covering it then the attention is generated. I am trying to shed light on the hidden or unpopular subjects. Maybe you should read more of my articles before judging me. Also I encourage all Americans to be united. Regardless of race, religion, gender, or sexual orientation. Please take a look around if after reading more than one article you still believe I am a racist then I am saddened at your inability to come up with an unbiased opinion. Feel free not to return. I will not change the way I write or what I write about. I also will not apologize for how I feel or what I say.

    • pushing for a change March 23, 2012 at 10:49 PM #

      All people have been killed and attacked for years, come on now. And absolutly justice for Treyvon, its a shame what happened to him, and the mexican that did it will get his time and will have to face his god.

  9. pushing for a change March 23, 2012 at 10:37 PM #

    I am saddened by what has happened to you and I see things like this in my community too. What is even worse is some of these comments. You are a racist? Really, did they even read the article?!?! Or any of your other articles? I’m not under the impression that you are a racist! I don’t feel you were even disrespectful to the man in your article, the way you wrote about him I mean. If the person that said they were there was actually there, what happened then? If you say the writer was a liar, how? I feel that each race keeps the hate going. Just as a white man driving through the black neighborhoods gets stared at, the black man in the white neighborhood will get the same thing. And you complain about him not writing about the boy who got murdered? He doesn’t write about those kinds of things, that’s mainstream, which is the opposite of what he does. I wish you guys would get a clue and stop attacking him for something you are unhappy about.

Leave a Reply

Archives